family, Immigration

We Need to Protect the DACA

Hi everybody,

This has been on my mind and heart the past few days since I heard that President Trump was going to revoke the DACA. This is close to my heart because I have friends, coworkers, and family members who were not born here and they love America. They love to learn and to work.

How would you feel if you were ripped away from the only home you have ever known and be sent to a country you have never lived in? It should scare and anger you. No child or adult deserves to be torn away from their families and their homes.

This not only affects them, but you and me. Many are business owners, doctors, and entry level workers that help to boost our economy and quite frankly, they make America better. We are a nation of immigrants but we seem to favor the original “white” immigrants and kick out everyone else. Just think of the African-Americans, the Italians, the Irish, the Native Americans…they were all outcasts because America wants to just keep certain people here. I don’t want to believe that our country is so callous towards people and unwelcoming.

Please help protect the Dreamers and their futures.

How can I help you ask? There is a simple way to get into contact with your senators who will help with the deciding votes. Simply text ‘50409‘ and text ‘Resist‘ and the Resistbot will assist you from there. I did it today.

Will you?

Here are some articles I found to educate myself further on the DACA and its impact:

New Study of DACA benefits

https://www.americanprogress.org/issues/immigration/news/2016/10/18/146290/new-study-of-daca-beneficiaries-shows-positive-economic-and-educational-outcomes/

How Immigration Hardliners Are Forcing Trump’s Hand on DACA

https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2017/08/how-immigration-hardliners-boxed-trump-in-on-daca/538623/

Leave a Reply