mental illness, People

Oversharing

I used to be very secretive about my life with my parents and my brothers. I felt it kept me safe from judgment and rejection. It did in a way but it made me feel like I couldn’t connect with people. Now I have a bigger problem.

I overshare about my life and my mental illnesses. On here it is fine because there are many struggling with similar feelings, thoughts, and problems. But sharing with just anyone is a bad idea.

I thought being honest with people all the time about my disabilities would help me to gain friends. I thought it would help me to achieve a connection that was deep and true. The sad part is that most people don’t know what to say. Sure, many say they are sorry for what I have been through but they don’t want to be my friends.

Maybe I have gone about it all wrong. There needs to be a balance in what I share and don’t. I simply want friends who will support me…to not feel so alone.

1 thought on “Oversharing”

  1. I think we all want to feel connected. Not alone. It is true that many people aren’t able to handle, or are equipped for our authenticity and vulnerability. Sometimes it is a case of oversharing, and sometimes it has nothing to do with us.
    I read a book called “Safe People” by Henry Cloud and John Townsend which I found immensely helpful in navigating through what relationships and people would be safe for me and which would be toxic. Learning to be real and open with ourselves and others definitely has a learning curve, but the healing and growth that comes with it is worth it! Keep showing the world beautiful you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply